65 lbs Down, 100 to go for 2014

That’s right. For all of 2013 I lost 65 lbs. Not bad, but I have done better. I lost 140 lbs in a little over a year a few years ago, but, as I posted in the reblog, it wasn’t lasting. I hit a plateau and didn’t know how to handle it. I moved downtown in my small town, where there’s a wealth of not-so-good for you restaurants (shot out to Luigi at Mama’s Pizza on Market St. in Harrisburg, PA! Best ‘za anywhere. Also contributed to my weight gain….)- pizza, tacos, fried Chinese, and a ton of bars and clubs. I was working at the time, making decent money being part-time, and eating that money at Mama’s and The Flamingo, a greasy spoon, Santa Fe taco factory’s big ass burritos (they did have a vegetarian option). I was further away from my gym and the bus system in Harrisburg was severely lacking. I could have gone, however, just stopped.

I quit smoking as well. That didn’t help. I had gotten from 460 lbs to 328 in a little over a year. I ballooned back up to 411 lbs by the time I moved out (they kicked us out as they sold our building to a college). I kept it steady as I changed gyms from Planet Fitness to a real gym (don’t get me started) and I had a partner. My partner wasn’t serious, however, and he was my ride. I went vegan and lost 23 lbs but when I ate meat again, I gained it right back.

The end of 2012 saw me moving across state to Pittsburgh and a new dedication to lose weight. And that I did. I moved in December 28th, got my gym membership early January and by December 15th 2013, 65 lbs were shed.

My progress in ages:

26 years old, 460 lbs
26 years old, 460 lbs
28 years old, 328 lbs
28 years old, 328 lbs
34 years old, 411 lbs. I had just moved to Pittsburgh. This is Easter 2013, in Harrisburg
34 years old, 411 lbs. I had just moved to Pittsburgh. This is Easter 2013, in Harrisburg
34 years old, Feb 2013 390 lbs
34 years old, April 2013 370 lbs
35 years old 357 lbs, October 2013
35 years old 357 lbs, October 2013
35 years old, 345 lbs, December 4th 2013
35 years old, 345 lbs, December 4th 2013

Consistency is key. Having not slept for one night and having class and ice and snow, my one day of gym time this week, I am proud of. I didn’t have to go at all, could have just come home after my appointment. Instead I went to the gym, exhausted and all, but entered beastmode on every lift.

IMG_1055479317339683

Leave a Reply

