The Biggest Loser: Gone Too Far?

I think I’m done with this show. I really like the people who are on it, their drive to get fit but I always knew, going into watching it, that the amount of weight they’re losing in the amount of time they lose it is not good. It’s a show. The prize is a lot of money, not health. And this post puts things into even more perspective for me. I need to reevaluate why I watch, what it does for me….

I Train Therefore I Eat.

I want to start this off by saying that I’m not a fan of The Biggest Loser. Every once in a while, I will sit through part of an episode, but I haven’t watched an episode in it’s entirety it since the series first began. I am so incredibly turned off by the fitness philosophy of Jillian Michaels that I really can’t stand to watch her on a regular basis, and I think that the philosophy of the show as a whole has a lot of room for improvement.

I don’t love the premise of someone winning because of one number, that one number being the one on the scale. I don’t love the idea of the contestants working out for several hours each day while consuming an alarmingly low number of calories.  And I don’t love the idea of throwing these people back into their regular lives after…

View original post 814 more words

Leave a Reply

